theposse.org
DNS question
2005/08/17 10:20:25 CDT by jworisek
Edited at 2005/08/17 14:49:30 CDT

we are hosting a website and a mail server off a box where I work. Ive noticed that we have been listed in one database as possible spammers (not for spam). Basically they did a reverse DNS and found that we only have our IP listed but there is actually .static.roch.mn.charter.com added in the reverse DNS. Since they don't match up, it flagged us.

So now Im trying to fix this problem. Our registrar is register.com. I can't make a new DNS entry under with that additional info and I cant create a new A record with it. So just how the hell do I fix this? Is this something that I should be talking to charter about or my registrar?

2005/08/17 11:25:23 CDT by mattsteg
[mattsteg's avatar]

Charter controls your reverse dns.

2005/08/17 12:11:51 CDT by Temporal
[Temporal's avatar]

Yeah, you either have to ask charter to delegate the .in-addr.arpa DNS for your IP to you, or you need to ask them to make reverse DNS resolve to your host name. The latter is probably easier on both ends, but the former gives you more control.

2005/08/17 15:23:18 CDT by jworisek

ok, thanks guys.. I called them up, now its left in the incompetent hands of charter employees.

2005/08/19 00:35:33 CDT by burn
[burn's avatar]

you might as well just start a spamming ring. You could try to introduce me to hot co-eds with web cams, or try to sell me v1agrraa.

theposse.org © Copyright 2005 Chris Troutman, Kenton Varda, and contributors
Powered by Io Community Manager, Evlan, and FreeBSD